ISDI Presents Lifetime Membership Award to Ed West

SEVERNA PARK, Md. – The Industrial Steel Drum Institute (ISDI), a trade association representing manufacturers of steel drum containers in the United States, Canada and Mexico, recently announced Ed West as the 2020 recipient of the organization’s Lifetime Membership Award.

“Ed has spent over half a century shaping America’s steel drum industry and it is an honor to recognize his accomplishments with this well-deserved award,” said Kyle R. Stavig, chairman of ISDI and CEO of Stavig Industries Group. “Ed showed true dedication to his company and the steel drum industry and his efforts will continue to positively impact our industry for years to come.”

The ISDI Lifetime Membership Award is given to long-time members of the steel drum industry in recognition of their service and dedication to the organization and the industry. This year’s award will be presented to West during the October 2020 Industrial Packaging Alliance of North America’s virtual conference.

“It is with great honor that I accept ISDI’s Lifetime Membership Award,” said West. “I dedicated my entire career to this industry and it is a privilege to be recognized for my work by a group of peers whom I deeply respect.”

West began his career in the steel drum industry in 1965 with Savannah Steel Drum Corporation, which later became Rheem Manufacturing. There, he worked as the Director of Marketing, District Sales Manager and Southern Region Sales Manager. After 14 years in Savannah, West returned to Charlotte and founded the General Steel Drum Corporation (GSD) where he worked for the next 41 years. During that time, he also co-founded and served as President of Innovative Driver Services; chaired the board of the Steel Shipping Container Institute; and co-founded the Southeastern Chemical Conference, of which he served as Chairman from 2016 to 2020. In 2011, GSD was acquired by Stavig Industries of Portland, Oregon. After the acquisition, West stayed on as Vice President of Sales for nearly 10 years before retiring after 56 years in the industry.